IAN Science Communication Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

News:

Author Topic: Wetland X-Section Diagram  (Read 11072 times)

Offline kreay

Wetland X-Section Diagram
« on: June 24, 2005, 11:18:53 am »
Hi,

I created this illustration as part of the Field Guide to Virginia Salt and Brackish Marsh Plants.  I have attached .ai and .gif versions of the illustration and .pdf version of the whole brochure.  The "salt marsh bushes" are little IAN symbol trees!  It is my first attempt at a concept diagram but will certainly not be my last.....it has caught on like wildfire here at CCRM and everyone wants one for their projects!

Karen

Offline AdrianJ

• Administrator
Re: Wetland X-Section Diagram
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2005, 05:35:02 pm »
Hi Karen,

Thanks for posting your diagram and brochure. It looks excellent and I like color coding of the zones in the diagram to the boxes around the species. A few comments for you:

• The diagram could benefit from the Illustrator knife tool to clean up the left and top edges  - I noticed that aren't quite right
  • The wave height and lengths for all the water levels are different - this could be construed as representing something
  • I would like to see a 'no inundation' label on the far right of the diagram - also, all the zones labels here should be the same font size
  • I would like to see a legend on the diagram detailing the various plants represented
  • The colors used for the zones in the diagram don't exactly match those used in the brochure - they are close, but the dropper tool in Illustrator would let you get them exact