IAN Science Communication Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 

News:



Author Topic: Mailing list and initial comments  (Read 8096 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dwilson

  • Member
  • Posts: 1
Mailing list and initial comments
« on: May 18, 2004, 02:02:49 pm »
Thanks to all of you who attended the meeting yesterday - I have expanded the mailing list alittle to include those who could not. 

The short summary is that the group agreed on two focal points for immediate improvements to  the CBOS system - better in situ wind and wave measurements, and an 'interoperability demonstration project' using dissolved oxygen as the initial observation.  The exact nature of how to address these tasks is left to the participants to decide - and needs to be done fairly quickly, because some decision has to be made in the next 2 weeks.

Initial sentiment seemed to be towards
3 permanent wind/wave installations in the N, C, and S bay;
Development of a less expensive (i.e., USCG AtoN deployed sensor) for better spatial resolution;
Implementation of a real time DO network based on upgraded existing resources;
Formation of a CBOS Data Management group to help facilitate the interoperability experiment
Availability of NOS CB mouth CODAR data to community

Anybody want to start the dialogue?
Doug

Mailing list
Doug   Wilson      Doug.Wilson@Noaa.gov                                                         
Tony   Siebers      Anthony.Siebers@noaa.gov                                                         Larry   Atkinson   l.atkinson@ocean.us                     
Larry    Sanford      lsanford@hpl.umces.edu                                    
Tom   Gross 1      Tom.Gross@noaa.gov                                                         
Tom    Gross 2      grosst@si.edu                                                               
Jay    Austin        jay@ccpo.odu.edu                                                            
Bruce    Michael      bmichael@dnr.state.md.us                                                            
Peter    Stone      Peter.Stone@noaa.gov                                                               
Mark   Bushnell   Mark.Bushnell@noaa.gov                                                               
Randy    Cone      cone@hpl.umces.edu                                                               
Bill    Dennison   dennison@umces.edu                                                            
Willy   Reay      wreay@vims.edu                                                                  
Carl    Friedrichs   cfried@vims.edu                                                                  
John    Brubaker   brubaker@vims.edu                                                               
Bill   Boicourt   boicourt@hpl.umces.edu                                                               
Kevin   Sellner      sellnerk@si.edu                                                                  
Tom   Royer      royer@ccpo.odu.edu